Everything You Need To Know About EN1090 In 2016/17

Q&A with Paul Leese, A Director of ECEX

BS EN 1090 logo

What is EN 1090?

A set of European standards designed to control the fabrication and assembly of steel and aluminium structures. EN 1090 is in three parts:


EN 1090 is mandatory under the Construction Products Regulations adopted in the UK in March 2011 to enforce the European Construction Products Directive.

Although the Brexit decision will, in all probability, result in the UK leaving the European Union (EU), this hasn’t happened yet so these rules still apply. Besides, even when we do leave (in 2018 at the earliest), we may well retain many European directives.

What do the Construction Products Regulations cover?

They apply to a range of activities involving ‘series’ manufactured items (in other words, an activity that an organisation carries out more than once) including:

Who is affected by BS EN 1090?

Those manufacturing and selling steel and aluminium structures and structural products within the EU, including civil and construction engineers, quality assurance and quality control people, those responsible for procurement, and inspection and non-destructive testing personnel.

What is CE Marking (referred to in EN 1090-1)?

CE is an abbreviation of ‘Conformité Européene’, a French phrase meaning ‘European conformity’. The CE Marking is the manufacturer’s declaration that the product meets the requirements of the applicable European directives. It indicates to government officials that a product may be legally placed on the market in their country.

How are steel and aluminium structures defined?

The British Standards Institution’s clarification document (http://bit.ly/1PcXNw2) offers a broad definition of the types of structural components covered. This includes structural steel and aluminium components, kits, steel components used in composite steel and concrete structures and structural cold-formed members and sheeting.

Structural components are defined as those “to be used as load-bearing parts of works designed to provide mechanical resistance and stability to the works and/or fire resistance, including aspects of durability and serviceability which can be used directly as delivered or can be incorporated into a construction work”.

Among others, the BSI document lists many everyday components for use in buildings including staircases, balconies, canopies, fire escapes, ladders, walkways, ramps and guardrails as well as trusswork, tension systems and mezzanine floors.

What are ‘execution classes’ referred to in EN 1090?

The execution class is determined by the potential risk to the public if the component or structure fails. There are four in EN 1090 in order of increasing complexity:

What are the broad requirements of EN 1090?

What is ECEX’s involvement with EN1090?

We are accredited to the EN 1090 standard and have an in-house RWC who has been externally approved to act in this role (rather than as a sub-contracted source, the route some companies have chosen to follow).

We can therefore demonstrate that all fabricated products have had welds tested in line with documented test regimes. We can also demonstrate that all welding equipment is independently serviced and tested to ensure that the highest quality of welding can be repeated consistently.

Where can I go for more information?

Contact us today for more information and advice:

Call us on 01635 244 100 or email us here